الحُب ليسَ روايةً شرقيةْ بختامها يتزوّج الأبطَال

I only saw her in the happy times of my life. As a child, she would take me to her house when I visited my aunt who lived in the same building, and would let me play with a wide collection of Barbie dolls. I remember at times she brushed my hair and told me some stories I knew too well, but loved to hear them over and over again.

Some time in the happy past, about 20 years ago and maybe more, my mum’s side of the family had the custom of organizing a huge gathering in the family house in Abou Samra for breakfast the first day of “Eid Al Fitr”. It used to be so crowded in a way I would cling to my grandma who proudly introduced me to everyone there, and guess who would make the whole meeting worth being at? She would gather all the kids there in one of the rooms and would tell us stories, give us some riddles to solve, and if we were too many, she would divide us in groups and sing loudly at times. The best part of it, is that she had done all this with the goodness of her heart, she was the reason I wanted to be there every year.

In Bacc 2, it was a pure joy to me to use her books and notebooks because, each one of them had a “Niza Qabbani” quote from many poems I loved, some I knew and some others I didn’t. Then I knew she got married and met her husband online, and I wasn’t scared a bit (it was not that common back then) knowing she had more sense that any girl her age.

Years later, she got a baby girl “Hanan”, and I can’t tell you how ecstatic I was when I found her on Facebook in 2007! “Hanan” is the spit image of her mum, she can call her “mini me”. I love her though I never had the chance to show her, I wish I could make her feel loved just like her mum did to me.

Why am I writing this? I’m not sure, really. I just thought of it last night, minutes before falling asleep and I woke up determined to write about people in my life and you Maya were the first person that came to my mind.

To those blue eyes that shine with life, and that wide smile that I hope never leaves you, I say bless you Maya Al-Mahmoud. You were a solid part of my childhood, you fall in the category of sweet memories and I’m thankful for having known you. I hope that miraculously, somehow life can bring us close to each other, and until then, keep sending those positive vibes around. I wish you all the best for everyday…

Hanan

About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in People, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

