Ramadaniyat- 2012

Last night was the 3rd and the last journey of this season (to me) of “Shoot As You Walk-Ramadaniyat” with “We love Tripoli”and I must say it was the best among them all. This time the path was better planned and more illuminated which made taking pictures slightly better.

It’s true we have to wait a bit in front of Nawfal palace (the start line) but this is when you get to greet everyone and have a little chat with them, which won’t be possible during the shooting journey. Who said chivalry is dead? One of the reasons I’m writing this post is to specifically thank a great person: Natheer Halawani, who knew from my previously posted photos that night photography is giving me hard times and out of the blue, he offers me his tripod! I didn’t know what to say first, I was overwhelmed with the selfless act knowing that he got it to take photographs himself. I had no idea how to use it! Nour showed me how and then he showed me too. And off we went.

The streets were unusually lit with colored bulbs, the traffic was beyond expectation and it was super crowded.  Now that Ramadan is in its last week, it’s not just the season’s spirit but also Eid Al Fitr preparations. We were often stopped by people: Are you journalists? TV? Why are you taking these photos? Some were welcoming and smiled to the cameras, others asked us not to take their photos. The souks smelled of “kaak”, some bakeries with “maamoul”, “Jelleb” “Tout” “lemonade” carts were everywhere. No matter how hard the life conditions have become, Tripoli always has her own charm with Ramadan related festivities.

Natheer’s tripod became at times a telescope for I was aiming for the suspended lights and I can’t say I’ve mastered its usage, but it prevented the blurry and ghostly effects that usually occur with night photography.

I tried to upload the photos to this post but there seems to be a problem with the connection so I’m sharing this link with you if you felt like checking the photos:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150968228987540.410632.651572539&type=3&l=214c0057ab

Thank you “We Love Tripoli”, because of you I’m a better photographer, a better volunteer. Because of you I love the city I live in even more. Because of you I’ve met great people and made good friends.  Because of you “Shoot As You Walk” is a top interest not to miss, not just some facebook event. To my twin Farah I know how much you hate these journeys but always always stood by me , I love you more than you know and to Nour. K thank you for everything because three years ago you dragged me to Nawfal palace when we knew no one back then and it became our thing. Taha, Hassan, Karim, Natheer, Mahmoud and lately Azad and Tarek, you’re my favorite people in the group. I wish you all the best with the hope that you keep the enthusiasm you have glowing, you are the pillars of this lovely bouquet of people. Bless you all.

About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in Photography, Tripoli, We Love Tripoli and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ramadaniyat- 2012

  1. Farah says:

    i enjoy every second i spend with u Ymn, you know that.. I don’t specifically hate the walks, just the stops (if u know what i mean) i am so proud of ur photos and always like to think i had helped u even if by only being there when u need me.. just be warned, i will still be there when u don’t 😛

  2. mmmayssaaa says:

    1- i laughed when i read farahs opinion of things, i think im starting to have more in common with her than with u 😛
    2- why is it the last trip?
    3- i had a dream last night that i was watching a video clip for a song by mustafa amar and it was shot in tripoli and it was so pretty and i swear fiya ken mashehed like your sowar.
    4- i LOOOOOOOVE the pic thats blurry and theres a creature in it walking under the archway. what is it?

  3. Ymn says:

    1- I know u have a lot in common with her mn zamen i told u so 😀
    2- There’s one more trip but I can’t be with them (Fanily Iftar)
    3- Lekkkkkk 3melili tag b hal dream!!! 😀 😀 ya zalameh video clip w b tripoli w mostafa amar shaghleh kbeereh!! 😛
    4- It’s a little girl 3am teshtof l madkhal eddem bayta, reghem enna kteer blurry bass bee2yet 7elweh l soura

  4. Md. Alsanda says:

    Thank you for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

