Tombe la neige

You can’t possibly be a resident of Tripoli and not know Terbol mount. It’s not very high in altitude but what makes it special is its location facing the Mediterranean in the north. On its summit lies the residence of the former deputy Jean Obeid which is a palace visible from the cost. It has been said that it was a volcano that turned cold and as a kid I have always wondered what will happen to poor Mr. Obeid if the volcano decided to erupt  again?

Till this day, whenever the setting of a story includes a mountain, I picture mount Terbol in my mind. Earlier this January, I took a photo of it while walking by the sea.

Two days ago, I woke up shivering with every limb. I said to myself it must have snowed the previous night because it was unbelievably cold. I looked out from the balcony and to my surprise, mount Terbol was covered with snow. I couldn’t take a photo of it but I’m going to post the photo taken by Samer Annous posted in the We love Tripoli group.

I still have this childish dream, to wake up and find the streets covered with snow. Who knows?

About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in Lebanon, Tripoli and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tombe la neige

  1. Mayssa says:

    My mum said she saw snow on the streets where she is. I can only imagine how pretty it’d all look from the air.

    • Ymn says:

      Eh Abou samra la2an 3aliyeh shway.. Akid shi ra2e3 from the plane. w Remember those brownish landscapes Hani and karim asked u about? I bet they’re grey or black now…

  2. taha says:

    who knows, my grandfather told me that it happend before, all tripoli turn into white with due to more than 60 cm of snow!

  3. Farah says:

    I am still wishing for a snow day… plz plz plzzzz 😛

Leave a Reply

