Cities look different at night

Cities look different at night and the night looks very different in Ramadan. I try not miss out on any opportunity to attend the “Shoot as you walk” events but the latest tours were even more appealing to me because of the theme “Ramadaniyat” & the timing: at night.

The colorful thing about the journeys is the paths we take. The first one was in the souks of El Mina and the decorations, though simple but added to the warm ambiance of Ramadan nights.  What really bothered me is the photography in the dark. I couldn’t capture everything around me. The photos came out blurry or dark no matter what camera mode I used. Very few shots were OK but I can’t say I’m proud. Here are some shots from El Mina tour:

Another journey followed which path crossed with Beb El Ramel & the famous Moussa Cafe. Unfortunately I couldn’t be with them, this is why I was super excited when Nour offered to pick us up to “Ramadaniyat ” (Souk El Bazerken). I went with Nour, Farah & Abdallah who also asked his friends to meet him there.

It was super crowded! We almost lost the group that was lagre enough already. It seemed like people wait for Ramadan to go to the souks that sold everything that comes to your mind. You can get some fresh juice while trying out a new pair of shoes! The crowded location prevented us from taking a lot of photos, too because if you stop you risk being pushed and smashed. I love how people posed and smiled at our noisy cameras. El Mina souks were better decorated but Al Bazerkan was more alive.

Near the end, and after taking the group photo, a loud music was heard: a folk song. To everyone’s surprise, the guys joined in and started a Dabkeh dance in the middle of the souk square. It was funny and spontaneous. I took a few photos of the guys and a video of the dance. The music guy seemed to be pleased with the ambiance and the sound became louder. You can hear our giggles in the background, it was really a special tour with special people.

About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in Events, Tripoli, We Love Tripoli and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cities look different at night

  1. mmmayssaaa says:

    mjaddideh bloggek?:O
    the second souro kteer 3ajbetni. u know, the other day i saw this book of rejected photos. theyre all blurry and instantly dismissed by the ppl who took them but when theyre all together in the same book they looked quite artistic.

  2. Ymn says:

    Mghayra el decor w dehneh l 7itan 😛 3ajbetni fekret book of rejected photos…On a side note, you know “Le tourbillion” li bl mina that is a tornado formed with old computers? Mario Saba the designer 3ataki 3emrou el yom.

  3. mmmayssaaa says:

    😦 allah yer7amo. ymkn my most recent blog entry was the universe’s way of letting me know he’s gone 😦

  4. Farah says:

    I especially love the photo of the father – daughter and I like how you waited until they were a bit further away..gave it a whole different perspective 🙂

  5. taha says:

    it’s tripoli ! my city w kif ma kenet btetla3 7elweh 😛

  6. Pingback: Cities look different at night « Shoot As You Walk

  7. Kiersten says:

    I’ve been browsing on-line more than 3
    hours lately, but I by no means found any fascinating article like yours.
    It is lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did,
    the internet shall be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

