Places

It’s funny how the same place can remind you of different memories. I went to that lovely restaurant located over that hill facing the sea with friends the other day. I smile now for the flashbacks I got when I went there.

First time I went to that restaurant was about 10 years ago… I can’t believe it’s been that long. How was lunch? I don’t quite remember, I just can’t forget how awkward I felt like the teenager that I was with the company that I had. I hated the place & I wished if I could just walk out of it even though it wasn’t possible because there’s no means of transportation available.

Time went by & when the group of teachers at the American Center wanted to have lunch there, I had cold feet. The place wasn’t so pleasant to me after a bad experience but I was forced to go. Over there, a friend of mine noticed how uncomfortable I was and asked what was bothering me. When she knew what it was all about, she said to me: it’s time to make new memories. And we did. I had wonderful laughs & tried many dishes and ever since that day I wanted to go back…

In 2003, M M told me that the owner was from Australia and he knows someone she knows. I never really knew who the owner was, but the next time I went there I recognized that tall chubby good looking guy with a friendly welcoming smile at the door of the restaurant. I loved the fact that he waitered his customers who were surprised and pleased at the same time.

I mentioned that to my friends at the table with me and it was as if I asked for him to come and take our order. He was smiling that large welcoming smile but it was obvious he lost a few kilos since the last time I saw him. I decided to blog about this restaurant when I get back. What’s not to like about it? I love the food, the view, the French oldies played in the background, the portraits on ceiling, the hospitable owner. All you need is good company to have the time of your life 🙂

About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Places

  1. mmmayssaaa says:

    ur blessed (and some would say cursed) with ur perfect ability to remember stuff. see i cant even remember that i told u that the owner is esromiyen. but ur right, its never actually about the trigger but about what we associate with that trigger with. i had a similar experience recently when i heard a song being played in the shopping centre. the last time i’d heard it i was having a very uncomfortable argument with someone and it just triggered all those hurtful moments back into my head. i had to physically stop and catch my breath and remind myself its just a stupid song… just a song…then another song started and mariah carey told us how all she wants for christmas is you oooooh oooh baby. im glad u had a good time at that restaurant on that hill overlooking the sea (i and my annabel lee)

  2. Ymn says:

    I would say cursed. Ennou important things no one forgets bas I’m running out of free space in my memory! I keep on asking myself why do I remember things no one ever does? Is this my “gift” ?

  3. Ymn says:

    Mn zamen I love annabel lee 😦

Leave a Reply

