Thank you bus!

I had a long day yesterday. I envied everyone else for having to finish work @ 11  while I had to attend a workshop @ the IC in Beirut. I hate Beirut! It was raining like it had never rained before this year. Even in my dreams the night before the sound of thunder was echoing in every scene of the dream. I arrived at school at 7:00 and found no one. I went in the bus and waited for almost 15 minutes till ppl  started to graudally appear.Lebanese and timing! It’s always elastic! I chose a place in the center of the bus and left my options open for I knew before hand that @ least two English teachers were coming on board. I greeted everyone. Some I knew and liked, others I didn’t like and the third type I didn’t know before. 
I sat next to the two English teachers like I planned and we started talking. First it was the regular teachers nagging, how stupid are the students becoming, how stressed we are, etc… But as time passed we ran out of nonsense conversations. One of the teachers fell asleep in her seat and I remained awake conversing with the other.   We laughed, cried, talked about childhood memories, discussed our plans for the future and fought. It was really a long way in the bus (raw7a/raj3a). When the ride was over, I had to make some adjustments in my mind about this person..For I knew her for quite a long time now but never in my life have I spent that much time talking to her…
Then I realized.I love buses! From the early childhood days on the tunes of (ya chauffeur d3as benzin) till my adolescent days (3a hadir l bosta)…From the shitty road and the highway between Tripoli and Akkar and that beautiful blue eyed blond angel next to me who always chose the wheel seat that everyone refused, till the traffic from Tripoli to Beirut back and forth…To all the buses in the world, the ones I’ve taken a ride in or not, more than 1 million thanks…
About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thank you bus!

  1. M says:

    lol the funny thing is i never actually knew that nobody else wanted it until u mentioned it. i thought it was the best seat in the house because it had an inbuilt footrest (and later, an inbuilt heater 😛 ), it was also far enough from the backseat where the fake \’cool\’ ppl sat and still far enough away from the front section…it was like our own little shaky universe.i hate beirut too, something about it really gets me down, i dunno what. i do understand completely the mingling that occurs on buses of which u speak. bas bta3erfi? hal shi bas bi lebnen. hon fiki te2e3di esbou3ein 7ad shakhes and never speak, but then again i didnt speak to anyone on abu ma3roufs bus until my inbuilt heater came along.

  2. M says:

    haj ma3roufs* !!!!!!!

  3. Ymn says:

    🙂 No one wanted that seat because it was uon vibration mode (right over the wheel) I like my new nickname (inbuilt heater) lol..Maybe in esroliyeh public trasportation is more common than in Leb, so it\’s harder to make conversations with ppl…maba3ref that\’s my analysis…YA EMMEHHHHHHH!!! IDAYKEH MTL OLB L BOOOOOUUUZ (7AJ MA3ROUF)

Leave a Reply

