I see me in the sea

” Atlantis”, “Treasure Planet”, “The Little Mermaid”, “A Message in A Bottle”, “Finding Nemo”, “Titanic”,”Pirates of The Carribean”…… and the  list could go on for ever…Don’t worry, I’m not trying to recite the mbc 2 movie guide for this month! I just wanted you to connect the dots to lead  you to the great common ingredient of all these different  masterpieces combined: “The sea”. The big blue that has always fascinated me and that has recently become an obsession in such a way I decided to discover and uncover the reasons that stand behind this attachment.
 
I relate to the sea. As weird as it may sound, I do. I have in fact dug into history and got you all the reasons, why and how.
Weren’t the Phoenicians the masters of the sea? Haven’t they spread their sails to transmit the alphabet to the whole world? Didn’t “Elissa”, the great queen flee in the sea to build up”Carthage” the Phoenician colony on the mediterranean? Religious wise, the story of the prophrt Moses performing the miracle of splitting the sea has always been one of my favorites. And, to top it all, I season this proud heritage with the great leader “Tarek Bn Ziad” and his famous encouraging quote:”The sea is behind you and the enemy is in front of you, where would you escape?”
This quote is taken from his speech upon the conquering of Spain. The same country I spent the first 4 years of my life…
 
I’s been 2o years now that I’ve lived in “Mina”, the marine suburb of “Tripoli”, and the only thing the city of waves and horizons has in common with my brth place “Bebnin”, a village in “Akkar” is the sea. For all the reasons listed above, I sometimes think that perhaps it’s not blood that flows in my veins but the salty water of the sea. Has it catsa spell on me I can’t escape its magnetic field?
I like to think that the sea and I  have merged. it is no coincidence, now that I’ve proved it, that I have inherited many of its characteristics.
 
I take after the sea, it is my best quality. People come to me when stressed out, pretty much the same way i seek comfort in the view of the sea. The same way I throw my worries away and let them sink in its bottom never fearing that any secret would be exposed. and inspite my curious nature, I would never ask anyone to tell me anything they don’t want. People go to the sea, it never comes to them.
I have also been granted the power of giving hope to my family and friends, so I’ve been told. Being the sea will definitely have to mean the sight of the full half of the cup, not the empty one. i’ve noticed the fine line between laughter and tears: they’re similar avenues  for emotional release, so why not laugh when given the chance to?
 
I ressemble the sea in its vices too. For in the peak of rage and anger, and the violent crushing of the waves, I might hurt the ones I love without any previous intention. Close people to me, the ones who know me too well would leave me alone till I return to my senses and let the stirred water calm down andd the waves return to their regular pattern.
I also, like the sea, could be boiling from the inside, with violent currents of thoughts and troubled feelings and yet the surface would be calm, never reflecting waht’s really going on. i have difficulties showing my inner feelings to the public. The sea never cries, and if it does, only the closest shores could ever witness the tears.
 
The well known Austrian novelist”Herman Broch” said: “Those who live by the sea can hardly form a single thought of which the sea would notbe part.” I add to that quotation. Not only it is a part of every thought, it has become a part of me, my reflection in the mirror of life…
 

About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I see me in the sea

  1. Farah says:

    woooooww .. fantastic .. w kellou u said it 3ala lghayeb .. :)nice one yammoun.. بحب البحر والطبيعة لسبب .. أنّو بتمثّل ألي المخلوقات الطائعة لله .. بحسها مبسوطة ومرتاحة لمجرد أنها ما بتخالف أوامر الله سبحانه وتعالى .. حلوة هالمخلوقات الطيبة .. 🙂

  2. M says:

    Song of Myself by Walt WhitmanYou sea! I resign myself to you also—I guess what you mean;I behold from the beach your crooked inviting fingers;I believe you refuse to go back without feeling of me;We must have a turn together—I undress—hurry me out of sight of the land;Cushion me soft, rock me in billowy drowse;Dash me with amorous wet—I can repay you.Sea of stretch’d ground-swells!Sea breathing broad and convulsive breaths!Sea of the brine of life! sea of unshovell’d yet always-ready graves!Howler and scooper of storms! capricious and dainty sea!I am integral with you—I too am of one phase, and of all phases.Partaker of influx and efflux I, extoller of hate and conciliation,Extoller of amies and those that sleep in each others\’ arms.

  3. Ymn says:

    Thank you Farrou7 🙂 yes 3an lghayeb!Mayssa, 7elwwwwwwwwe!

Leave a Reply

