Icebreaker

I woke up one early morning, searching for my mum, to find her busy with something in the kitchen.

– Good morning mum. What are u doing?

– “Ghazi baddou 7akesh” she replied worriedly. Which is Arabic for ( my cooker needs some serious cleaning from the inside out”

 

I almost fainted @ the news!!!! What???????

I know that this doesn’t probably make sense to anyone. However, what you must know is that my Dad’s name is “Ghazi” & when saying “Ghazi” beddou 7akesh!!!….. You get the idea 😛

 

Funny incidents keep happening to me, in such a way that I decided to adopt humor as an essential ingredient in the structure of my personality. This does not mean I’m perky or worries free. Smiles are commas and semicolons, and very few are the people who can still master the art of punctuation in their daily speeches.

 

I’m an English teacher. I’ve been teaching for six years now & I love my job. Perhaps I belong to the old school that considered the teacher a messenger, not just someone who passes information but someone who shapes the future generation and molds young minds. I became an English teacher because I was inspired. I had a great teacher who influenced me and she’s the reason I chose English lit. as a major.

 

I read once that every piece of writing is a crime we commit towards a certain memory, and that writers do it cold bloodedly, in front of everyone’s sight…Ever since that day, I started to write…Memories seep from my veins and change into words-bullets. I’m responsible of massacres so far, a book that hasn’t seen the light yet. Someday, not today, not tomorrow, I’ll have it published.

 

I feel younger everyday I grow older. My dentist said it’s because I still have a milk molar as an adult. This is why every time I brush my teeth; I make sure I use some extra toothpaste on it in the attempts of preserving it as much as possible.

 

Someone asked me few days ago:”Where do you see yourself in 10 years?”

It took me just a moment to figure out the answer: “in the mirror”. I don’t make any future plans; there are enough worries for each day.

 

In the latest seminar I attended, we were asked to make something called “self promotion”, and the idea was to write down our names and make from each letter an adjective. I think now is the best time to self- promote. I actually referred to an application of facebook called” Name Analyzer” and it said the following:

Y: Yummy (I haven’t tasted myself 😛 )

M: Mature (it’s a curse)

N: Noticed (I try)

 

November, 2008

 

About Ymn

انا المرأة الزوبعة فقل للنخيل يطأطئ حتى أمرّ
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Icebreaker

  1. Rania says:

    Interesting start… As for ur self promtion: 1) Yummy, well i guess so but don\’t ask me to taste u 😛 2) Mature… a curse!!! why? Let me comfort u, it shows at the right time 3) Noticed… Most definitly trueI think I would have gave u my vote, I\’m not sure 😛

  2. M says:

    YellowMagneticNervinememories seep from my veins they may be empty and weightless and maybe i\’ll find some peasce tonightttt

  3. Ymn says:

    Thx RaNia…Taysouna, in the arms of an angel…wl be2i nsitou 🙂

  4. mmmayssaaa says:

    wtf is yellow magnetic nervine????

  5. Ymn says:

    shou bi3arefni ana? kel li ba3rfou ennou l song is the sound track of a movie kellou ka2ebeh la Nicholas Cage 😛

Leave a Reply

